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These are some issues the KSHO staff deemed important for the listening audience

Oregon’s minimum wage increased July 1*. But how much depends on where you live.

In Lane, Benton, and Linn Counties the wage will increase from $10.25 to $10.75.

In Douglas and Coos County, minimum will climb from $10 an hour to $10.50.

In the Portland area, it goes from $11.25 to $12 an hour. The Legislature in 2016 approved
A set of minimum wage increases until 2022, when the wage will be tied to inflation.

Aired on KSHO 7/2 (43 seconds) on various newscasts throughout the day.

Benton County is moving toward enacting a public safety fee that will raise nearly $4 million per
year. Benton County is looking to add on the police side, 13 officers and 2 sergeants. The money
would also help hire 6 new firefighters. The fee would be tacked on to city service bills to
residents, businesses, and large non-profit entities. A separate initiative aims at raising money for
911. When 911 was started in Benton County they dispatched about 21,000 calls. Last year they
dispatched 43,000. Officials will ask Benton County voters to form a special taxing district and
eventually hire more dispatchers.

Aired on KSHO 8/30 (60 seconds) on various newscasts throughout the day.

A drinking water advisory for vulnerable populations was lifted in and around the Salem area
On July 4. The first advisory was issued on May 29™ three days after the city learned toxins
linked to an algae bloom were detected in Salem’s drinking water. The initial alert was lifted
June 2™, only for another one to be issued June 6", Salem residents agreed the on-again, off-
again nature of the early water advisories hurt the city’s credibility. The Oregon Legislature is

considering allocating more than $1.2 million to better equip the state agencies 1o respond 1o
algal toxin contaminations.

Aired on KSHO 7/5 (40 seconds) on 7/9 and 9/25 on various newscasts throughout those days.

Air quality very unhealthy due to wildfires. Forecasters warned of unhealthy air as winds pushed
smoke from surrounding wildfires into the region. The National Weather Service issued an Air
Quality Advisory for much of Western Oregon. Meanwhile, DEQ issued an air pollution
advisory for Southern Oregon that remains in effect until further notice. Air quality over the area
is poor because of smoke from wildfires and terrain that traps smoke in the valleys. A new, free
mobile app called Oregon Air which shows what air quality conditions look like in different
parts of the state became available for both android and iPhone,

Aired on KSHO 8/19 ( 50 seconds) on 8/19 ( 45 seconds) on 8/20 and 9/5 on various newscasts
throughout those days.

Oregon Measure 103, the Ban Tax on Groceries Initiative, is on the ballot in Oregon as an
initiated constitutional amendment on November 6. The biggest supporters of Measure 103 are




some major grocery store chains, spending big money to get voters to say Yes to banning
government leaders from approving a sales tax on food you buy at the store.

If approved, Measure 103 locks a sales tax ban into the Oregon state Constitution. That couldn’t
change without voter approval. A yes vote supports this amendment to prohibit state and local
governments from enacting taxes on groceries. A no vote opposes this amendment thus retaining
the authority of state and local governments to enact taxes on groceries.

Aired on KSHO (60 seconds) 9/18 on various newscasts throughout the day.

Beginning October 1%, visitors to Linn County who stay overnight in local motels, hotels, bed
and breakfast or at area campgrounds, will pay an additional 3 percent transient lodging tax. Fees
collected in Zip code areas 97321 and 97322 an estimated $340,000 per year will be dedicated to
the Fair & Expo Center. All other taxes will be directed to the Linn County Parks and Recreation
Department.

Aired on KSHO ( 40 seconds) 7/5 on various newscasts throughout the day.




