Bottle Deposits - 1

DM/MEH

3/11/19 (Mon PM/Tue AM)

Refundable deposits on some bottles could be in the future for Arkansas. A bill to introduce a Container Deposit Law was filed today (Monday) in the legislature. Taylor Bridges, the Director of the non-profit spearheading the effort, says 10 other states have similar laws to help reduce trash and landfills.

NEWS17

0:17

"...an economy around."

The proposal would increase the cost of certain bottles by 6 cents. A refund of 5 cents would be available at certified dropoff locations. Representative Vivian Flowers is sponsoring the bill and says she believes it could provide a recycling program that pays for itself.

Bottle Deposits - 2

DM/MEH

3/11/19 (Mon PM/Tue AM)

Arkansas could join 10 other states with refundable bottle deposits as the result of a bill filed today (Monday) in the state legislature. Representative Vivian Flowers, a Democrat from Pine Bluff, is sponsoring the bill to introduce a Container Deposit Law. She says the proposal could reduce litter on Arkansas roads and benefit many rural communities that currently have no access to recycling.

NEWS18

0:17

"...their water infrastructure."

If passed, consumers would pay 6 cents more for certain bottles, but a refund of 5 cents would be available at certified dropoff locations. According to Flowers, the program could begin paying for itself within 3 years if the bill is passed.